^Back To Top
foto1 foto2 foto3 foto4 foto5 foto6 foto7


Click to play online now and good luck at



All County A League Round 1

Poor Start for Drums

Jamie Myles
Jamie Myles

In Drumconrath 


Syddan 1-15 Drumconrath 0-4

Syddan completely dominated the home side and ran out easy winners with the result never really in doubt as Syddan led 0-9 to 0-2 at the break.
The early exchanges where close enough with Luke Halpenny pointing Syddan ahead and Stephan Crosby leveling the game after 6 minutes.
Syddan then took full control and by the 20th minute led 0-7 to 0-1 with Dara Rowe with 5 points (2 frees) one of these came from a poorly struck 45 which Rowe picked up and fired over after the 45 resulted when Rowe was denied a goal after a decent save by the Drumconrath goalie. Ian Curran also hit the target as all the home side had to show was a Black Card for Alan Byrne. 
Jamie Myles did stop the rot with a point but Syddan continued on their merry way with another Rowe free and Halpenny pointing just on half time.
Drumconrath tried hard at the start of the 2nd half but all they had to show was a couple of wide's. Gary Farrelly then got in on the act and pointed and soon after substitute Sean Clare did well to fist over a high cross. On the kick out Drumconrath's goose was fully cooked as an attempted short kick out was intercepted by Rowe and he did not need to to asked twice and he fired home on 35 minutes to leave it 1-11 to 0-2.
The scoring slowed down with Drumconrath kicking 6 to Syddan's 3 in the second half as Farrelly (2), Rowe and Halpenny pushing Syddan 1-15 to 0-2 ahead by the 51st minute as Farrelly was unlucky not to net when his goal bound shot was saved.
Peter McEvoy picked up Drumconrath's 2nd Black Card as Derek Duff pointed on 54 minutes and Brendan Lyons finished the scoring late on when the Syddan keeper pulled off a fine save to deflect the ball over the bar with the last kick of the game.
Drumconrath; Conor O'Halloran; John Lynch, Thomas Carolan, Patrick Dunne; Jamie Myles (0-1), Peter Tighe, John McDermott; Sean McMahon, Stephan Crosby (0-1), Damien Glass, Derek Duff (0-1), Alan Byrne; Chris Tighe, Peter McEvoy, Brendan Lyons (0-1). 
Subs; Eoin Martin for Byrne (B), Graham Tighe for C Tighe, Aiden Tighe for McDermott, Tomas Conlon for Glass, Oran Finnegan for McEvoy (B), Leighton Irwin for McMahon
Copyright © 2013. Drumconrath GFC Rights Reserved.