^Back To Top
foto1 foto2 foto3 foto4 foto5 foto6 foto7

Coming Up

No events

Latest Lotto


Click to play online now and good luck at




U21 Final 2016

U21B Final

In Carlanstown 3rd December 2016

Oldcastle 2-13 Drumconrath/Meath Hill 0-12

from Meath Chronicle

Oldcastle captured the last title of the year in the Meath GAA Co Board schedule when they proved too strong for Drumconrath / Meath Hill in the u-21 B FC decider at Carlanstown tonight with a merited 2-13 to 0-12 victory.

This was a fiercely competitive game and Oldcastle were that bit more effective in front of the posts and also moved the ball swiftly and accurately as they established a 1-7 to 0-5 interval advantage.

The opening Oldcastle goal arrived in the 13th minute and while there was a touch of good fortune about the score, it was a pivotal moment.

A lofted point attempt from Conor Delaney hit the upright and Ronan Maguire made the most of the chance to finish to the net.

Four pointed CJ Healy frees were augmented by a brace from Scully and a lone Sean Maxwell effort after a fine run in the fourth minute.

Ian Malone kept Drumconrath / Meath Hill ticking over with three converted frees while James Mooney and Shane McCabe were on the mark from play.

The players wearing the number 13 jersey dominated the second-half scoring with Malone sending over four from play for Drumconrath / Meath Hill while his numerical couterpart, Scully claimed another brace to leave a goal in it (1-9 to 0-9) after 40 minutes.

Drumconrath / Meath Hill lost McCabe to a black card soon after and then it was the turn of the number 10 on each side to trade points as Healy (free) for Oldcastle and Ryan Carry for Drumconrath / Meath Hill, with an effort that could have yielded a goal, on the mark.

Carry was withdrawn subsequently, although the miss for goal chance was not the reason, but the decision did not please some from Drumconrath / Meath Hill.

Oldcastle continued to shade the exchanges and took a major step towards lifting the trophy when a surging run from midfielder Robert Smith, who was outstanding, made the opening for Maguire's second goal.

With a 2-10 to -10 lead by the 53rd minute, Oldcastle were home and hosed, but Drumconrath / Meath Hill kept battling despite the loss of Ryan Owens who was dismissed near the end.

Further points from Scully, Maxwell and Maguire added gloss to the Oldcastle victory while Daniel Byrne and Kieran Slavin completed the tally for the combination.

As usual, St Michael's officials had everything well organised and the public address enabled Oldcastle captain to thank everyone that needed to be thanked after he received the trophy from Meath Co Board vice-chairman Peter O'Halloran.

Oldcastle- Ronan Taggart; Stephen Lawless, Keith Connell; Ignes Romanas, Matthew Taggart, Oran O'Reilly; Robert Smith, Sean maxwell (0-2); CJ Healy (0-5 frees), Ronan Maguire (2-1), Colin Currran; Jason Scully (0-5 four frees), Conor Delaney.Subs- Lee Healy for Curran 36 mins, Kyle Kavanagh for Smith 56m, Philip Reilly for Maguire 59m.

Drumconrath / Meath Hill- Dominic Yorke; Cathal Dunne, Conor Marry; Robert McEntaggart, james Mooney (0-1), Kieran Slavin (0-1); Ryan Owens, Tomas Conlon; Ryan Carry (0-1), Conor O'Halloran, Shane McCabe (0-1); Ian Malone (0-7 three frees), Daniel Byrne (0-1).Sub- Matthew Carolan for Dunne 22 mins, Colm McEvoy for Carry 55 mins.
Black card- S McCabe (replaced by Graham Boylan 51 mins)

Referee- Brendan O'Brien (St Mary's).

Copyright © 2013. Drumconrath GFC Rights Reserved.